Skip to main content

Agricultural and Biological Engineering

Agricultural and Biological Engineering

The Agricultural and Biological Engineering department consists of faculty and staff dedicated to advancing and supporting the many industries we serve. Learn more about our faculty, staff, postdoctoral associates, and graduate students by exploring our directories.


People

Virtual Row Crop Field Days
The Northeast Regional Row Crop Working Group has put together a selection of virtual field days for you to enjoy! See the latest updates on UF research trials, important relevant topics, and other resources. Check out the story maps below! Check out the 2021 Regional Corn Field Day Here: 

Yiannis Ampatzidis

Associate Professor

Precision Agriculture/Automation
i.ampatzidis@ufl.edu
239-658-3451

 

Haimanote Bayabil

Assistant Professor

Water Resources
hbayabil@ufl.edu
786-217-9253

 

Eban Bean, P.E.

Assistant Professor

Urban Hydrology
ezbean@ufl.edu
352-294-2277

 

Nikolay Bliznyuk

Associate Professor

Associate Professor
nbliznyuk@ufl.edu
352-294-6734

Ziynet Boz

Assistant Professor

Sustainable Food Systems Engineering
ziynetboz@ufl.edu
352-294-7690

    

Tom Burks, P.E.

Professor

Agricultural Robotics
tburks@ufl.edu
352-294-6728

Melanie Correll

Associate Professor

Plant-Space Biology
correllm@ufl.edu
352-294-6722

 

Michael Dukes, P.E.

Professor

Irrigation/Water Conservation
mddukes@ufl.edu
352-294-6720

 

Clyde Fraisse

Professor

Agroclimatology
cfraisse@ufl.edu
352-294-6742

 

Bin Gao

Professor

Nanotechnology
bg55@ufl.edu
352-294-6746

Serap Gorucu

Assistant Professor

Agricultural Safety and Health
serapgorucu@ufl.edu
352-294-6738

 

Wendy Graham

Swisher Eminent Scholar

Water Resources
wgraham@ufl.edu
352-294-7741

 

Sandra Guzmán

Assistant Professor

Hydrology/Irrigation
sandra.guzmangut@ufl.edu
772-577-7342

 

Young Gu Her

Assistant Professor

Hydrology and Water Quality
yher@ufl.edu
786-217-9288

Gerrit Hoogenboom

Professor and Preeminent Scholar

Crop Modeling
gerrit@ufl.edu
352-294-1036

Ray Huffaker

Professor

Empirical Nonlinear Dynamics
rhuffaker@ufl.edu
352-294-6745

Pierce Jones

Professor

Director, Program for Resource Efficient Communities
piercejones@ufl.edu
352-392-8074

Jasmeet Judge

Professor

Microwave Remote Sensing
jasmeet@ufl.edu
352-294-6750

Gregory Kiker

Professor and Graduate Coordinator

Ecological Modeling
gkiker@ufl.edu
352-294-6749

Wonsuk "Daniel" Lee

Professor

Precision Agriculture
wslee@ufl.edu
352-294-6721

 
Dr. Ana Martin-Ryals

Ana Martin-Ryals

Assistant Professor

Biological Engineering Undergraduate Coordinator
admartin@ufl.edu
352-294-6708

Christopher Martinez

Associate Professor

Urban Water Resources
chrisjm@ufl.edu
352-294-6744

Kati Migliaccio, P.E.

Professor and Chair

Hydrology Monitoring and Modeling
klwhite@ufl.edu
352-294-6743

 

Saqib Mukhtar

Professor and Associate Dean for Extension, Agriculture and Natural Resources

Animal Manure, Effluent Management
smukhtar@ufl.edu
352-392-1761

 

Rachata Muneepeerakul

Associate Professor

Dynamic Models, Stochastic Processes
rmuneepe@ufl.edu
352-294-6729

Rafael Muñoz-Carpena

Professor

Hydrology and Environmental Modeling
carpena@ufl.edu
352-294-6747

Cheryl Palm

Research Professor

Soil Biological and Ecological Processes
cpalm@ufl.edu
352-294-6727

William Pelletier

Senior Lecturer

Postharvest
wpelletier@ufl.edu
352-294-6701

 

Wendell Porter

Senior Lecturer

AOM Undergraduate Coordinator
waporter@ufl.edu
352-294-6706

Pratap Pullammanappallil

Associate Professor

Environmental Biotechnology
pcpratap@ufl.edu
352-294-6719

Richard Scholtz

Senior Lecturer

Sustainable Agriculture
rscholtz@ufl.edu
352-294-6704

 

Vivek Sharma

Assistant Professor

Precision Water Management
vsharma1@ufl.edu
352-294-6725

 

Vakhtang Shelia

Research Assistant Scientist

vakhtang.shelia@ufl.edu
352-294-6731

Sanjay Shukla

Professor

Watershed Hydrology
sshukla@ufl.edu
239-658-3425

 

Aditya Singh

Assistant Professor

Remote Sensing and Spectroscopy
aditya01@ufl.edu
352-294-6739

 

Zhaohui Tong

Associate Professor

Biofuels and Bioproducts
ztong@ufl.edu
352-294-6702

 

J. Adam Watson

Assistant Professor

AOM Undergraduate Coordinator
Agricultural Economics, Postharvest
jaw7385@ufl.edu
352-294-6740

 

Bruce Welt

Professor

Packaging
bwelt@ufl.edu
352-294-6730

Ziwen Yu

Assistant Professor

Big Data Analytics
ziwen.yu@ufl.edu
325-294-7761

 

Ying Zhang

Assistant Professor

Controlled Environments
yingzhang409@ufl.edu
325-294-6864

Research

Visit our Research Areas page to learn about our department's research expertise and the faculty that work within these areas.

Affiliate Faculty

Albert De Vries

Affiliate Professor

University of Florida
Department of Animal Sciences

devries@ufl.edu
352-294-6983

Amor Menezes

Affiliate Assistant Professor

University of Florida
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

amormenezes@ufl.edu
352-294-0470

John Schueller

Affiliate Professor

University of Florida
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

schuejk@ufl.edu
352-392-0822

Courtesy Faculty

Senthold Asseng

Courtesy Faculty

Professor, Digital Agriculture
Director, World Agriculture Science Center
Technical University Munich

Igor Linkov

Senior Science and Technology Manager

U.S. Army Engineer Research and Development Center

Adjunct Professor

Carnegie Mellon University

igor.linkov@usace.army.mil

Eric McLamore

Associate Professor

Clemson University

emclamo@clemson.edu

Emeritus Faculty

NameTitleEmailPhone
Direlle Baird Professor Emeritus direllebaird@yahoo.com  
Howard Beck Professor Emeritus hwb@ufl.edu 352-392-3797 
Brian J. Boman Professor Emeritus bjboman@ifas.ufl.edu 561-468-3922 
Ray Bucklin Professor Emeritus bucklin@ufl.edu  
Kenneth L. Campbell Professor Emeritus klc@ufl.edu  
Khe Van Chau Professor Emeritus kvchau@ufl.edu  
Richard P. Cromwell Associate Professor Emeritus rpcrom@ufl.edu  
Jonathan F. K. Earle  Associate Professor Emeritus  jearl@eng.ufl.edu  
Richard C. Fluck Professor Emeritus flandnc2@gmail.com  
Byron T. French Associate Professor Emeritus frenchbyronfaith@bellsouth.net  
Dorota Haman Professor Emeritus dhaman@ufl.edu  
Gerald W. Isaacs Professor Emeritus isaacs@ufl.edu  
James Jones Distinguished Professor Emeritus jimj@ufl.edu 352-294-6748
William M. Miller Professor Emeritus wmm@ifas.ufl.edu  
J. Wayne Mishoe Professor Emeritus wmishoe@jwm-engineering.com 352-372-2750
Donald R. Price Professor Emeritus drprice@ufl.edu  
Kathleen C. Ruppert Emeritus Extension Scientist kr@ufl.edu  
Masoud Salyani Professor Emeritus msi@ufl.edu  
Lawrance N. Shaw Professor Emeritus lshaw8715@aol.com  
Glen H. Smerage Associate Professor Emeritus glens@ufl.edu  
Arthur A. Teixeira Professor Emeritus atex@ufl.edu  
Jodie D. Whitney Professor Emeritus jdwhitney@ifas.ufl.edu  
Fedro Zazueta Professor Emeritus fsz@ufl.edu  

Retired Faculty

NameTitle
James D. Leary, Ph.D. Retired Senior Lecturer

Staff

Jessica Abbate

Admin Support Assistant I

352-294-6700
abbatej@ufl.edu
ROG 120

Juan Briceno

Engineer I

352-294-6713
jbriceno@ufl.edu
ROG 142

Daphne Flournoy

Academic Advisor

352-294-6709
dflournoy@ufl.edu
ROG 116

Dawarren Harrison

End User Computing Specialist II

352-294-6716
dawarrenharrison@ufl.edu
ROG 165

Scott Karwan, P.E.

Engineer III/Facilities Manager

352-294-6712
skarwan@ufl.edu
ROG 168

Alvin Langford

Engineer

352-392-9771
alangfo@ufl.edu

Molly Lewis

End User Computing Specialist II

352-294-6724
molly.lewis@ufl.edu
ROG 165

John Nemenyi

Water Resources Engineering Tech 1

352-294-6717
nemenyi93@ufl.edu
ROG 151

Shannon Noble

Education Coordinator

352-294-6711
shannon.noble@ufl.edu
ROG 120

Cheryl Porter

Coordinator
Computer Applications

352-294-6736
cporter@ufl.edu
ROG 243

Jim Rummel

Senior Engineering Technician

352-392-7947
jrummel@ufl.edu

Pat Rush

Electrical Engineer

352-294-6723
prush@ufl.edu
ROG 216

Haley Tsai

Human Resources

352-294-6705
haley.tsai@ufl.edu
ROG 111

Christopher Villalobos

Application Developer/Analyst III

352-294-6735
cvillalobos@ufl.edu
ROG 240

Ben Weeks

Engineer

352-294-6714
benweeks@ufl.edu

ROG 163

Max Williams

Coordinator
Administrative Services III

352-294-6710
mandomax@ufl.edu
ROG 117

McKenzie Wynn

Marketing and Communications Specialist

352-294-0487
mwynn3@ufl.edu

ROG 120D

Michael Zingaro

Engineer

352-392-9771
zgator1@ufl.edu

Learn More About Our Department

Visit our About Us page to learn about the Agricultural and Biological Engineering department's mission, goals, and more.

Postdocs

Allegra Cohen
Principal Investigator (PI): Gerrit Hoogenboom
aa.cohen@ufl.edu

Kalindi Larios
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Principal Investigator (PI): Rafael Muñoz-Carpena
rubym00n@ufl.edu

Vijaya Joshi
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Principal Investigator (PI): Gerrit Hoogenboom
vjoshi@ufl.edu

Gonzalo Pablo Suarez
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Principal Investigator (PI): Rachata Muneepeerakul
suarezg@ufl.edu 

Shunchang "Jack" Yang
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Principal Investigator (PI): Pratap Pullammanappallil
jack.shushu@ufl.edu

 
 

Graduate Students

Bibek Acharya, Ph.D. Program
Precision Water Management
Advisor: Dr. Vivek Sharma
bibekacharya@ufl.edu

Piyush Agade, Ph.D. Program
Advisor: Dr. Eban Bean
pagade@ufl.edu

Emmanuel S. Ajayi, Ph.D. Program
Modeling and Agricultural Structures
Advisors: Drs. Greg Kiker and Ray Bucklin
eajayi@ufl.edu

Rubab Ajmal, M.S. Program
Autonomous Navigation for Agriculture Field Robots
Advisor Dr. Wonsuk “Daniel” Lee
rubab.ajmal@ufl.edu

Diego Alvarado, Ph.D. Program
Controlled Environments
Advisor: Dr. Ying Zhang
dalvaradopalma@ufl.edu

Dawood Atta, PhD Program 
Agricultural Decision Systems / Life Cycle Assessment 
Advisor: Dr. Gerrit Hoogenboom
attadawood@ufl.edu 

Eduart Murcia Botache, ME Program  
Irrigation Management in Specialty Crops  
Advisor: Dr. Sandra Guzman 
emurciabotache@ufl.edu 

Placeholder image

Ryan Brissey
Advisor: Dr. Greg Kiker
rbrissey@ufl.edu

 

Naqeeb Cahacci, Ph.D. Program
Remote Sensing
Advisors: Drs. Aditya Singh and Zhaohui Tong
ncahacci@ufl.edu

 

Mert Canatan, PhD Program  
Agricultural and Biological Engineering 
Advisors: Dr. Ziynet Boz and Dr. Rafael Muñoz-Carpena 
mert.canatan@ufl.edu 

 

Alvaro Carmona Cabrero, Ph.D. Program
Modeling Natural-Human Systems
Advisor: Dr. Rafael Muñoz-Carpena
acarmonacabrero@ufl.edu

 

Joe Barrett Carter, Ph.D. Program
Advisors: Drs. Eban Bean and Aditya Singh
jbarrett.carter@ufl.edu

Oscar Castillo Romero, Ph.D. Program
Crop Modeling
Advisor: Dr. Gerrit Hoogenboom
ocastilloromero@ufl.edu

Vinicius Cerbaro, PhD Program 
Agrometeorology 
Advisor: Dr. Clyde Fraisse 
cerbaro@ufl.edu 

 

Jennifer Clark, Ph.D. Program
Agricultural Economics
Advisor: Dr. Wendell Porter
jlclark@ifas.ufl.edu

 

Donald Coon, Ph.D. Program
Advisor: Dr. Ana Martin-Ryals
dcoon@ufl.edu


Jithran Ekanayake, Ph.D. Program
Bioengineering
Advisor: Dr. Amor Menezes

Angelica Engel (Lomeu), Ph.D. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisor: Dr. Sanjay Shukla
amengel@ufl.edu

Ronald Fox, M.S. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisor: Dr. Eban Bean
ronald.fox@ufl.edu

Quentin Frederick, Ph.D. Program
Agricultural Automation Systems
Advisors: Drs. Tom Burks and Adam Watson
qfrederick@ufl.edu

Adam Fuerst
Advisor: Dr. Sanjay Shukla
adam.fuerst@ufl.edu

Placeholder image

Emily Gaskin, MS Program  
Advisor: Dr. Sandra Guzman  
gaskine@ufl.edu 

Kyle Griffin, Ph.D. Program
Bioprocessing
Advisor: Dr. Pratap Pullammanappallil
kgriffin2494@ufl.edu

Kimberly Hafner, Ph.D. Program
Packaging
Advisor: Dr. Bruce Welt
hafnerk@ufl.edu

Yi Han, Ph.D. Program
Statistics
Advisor: Dr. Nikolay Bliznyuk
yhan2014@ufl.edu

Kira Hansen, Ph.D. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisor: Dr. Sanjay Shukla
khansen5@ufl.edu

Alwin Hopf, Ph.D. Program
Decision Support Systems
Advisors: Drs. Gerrit Hoogenboom and Adam Watson
alwinhopf@ufl.edu

Adam Howe, Ph.D. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisor: Dr. Rafael Muñoz-Carpena
jhowe1@ufl.edu

Jinsheng Huang, Ph.D. Program
Waste Management
Advisor: Dr. Bin Gao
hjs92116@ufl.edu

Christopher Hwang, Ph.D. Program
Crop Modeling
Advisor: Dr. Melanie Correll
hwang138@ufl.edu

Lesly Jerome, M.S. Program
Sustainability
Advisor: Dr. Pierce Jones
kalel84@ufl.edu

Minyeop Kim, MS Program  
Advisor: Dr. Zhaohui Tong 
minyeop.kim@ufl.edu 

Stephen Lantin, Ph.D. Program
Advisors: Drs. Melanie Correll and Aditya Singh
slantin@ufl.edu

Emerick Larkin, Ph.D. Program
Sustainable Space Agriculture
Advisor: Dr. Melanie Correll
emerickl@ufl.edu
Twitter | LinkedIn | Blog

Dogil Lee, Ph.D. Program
Modeling and Agricultural Best Management Practices
Advisor: Dr. Wendy Graham
lee.d@ufl.edu

Yushi Li, M.S. Program
Advisor: Dr. Ana Martin-Ryals
liyushi@ufl.edu

 

Placeholder image

Lauren Lindow, PhD Program  
Aquaponics 
Advisor: Dr. Ziynet Boz  
llindow@ufl.edu 

Jai-Yi Ling, Ph.D. Program
Statistics and Hydrology
Advisors: Drs. Chris Martinez and Nikolay Bliznyuk
jiayiling@ufl.edu

Yikan Liu
Bioenergy
Advisor: Dr. Pratap Pullammanappallil
ykl1991.04.06@ufl.edu

R. Jason Merrick, Ph.D. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisors: Drs. Kati Migliaccio and Michael Dukes
rj.merrick@ufl.edu

Patricia Moreno Cadena, Ph.D. Program
Crop Modeling
Advisors: Drs. Senthold Asseng and Gerrit Hoogenboom
lpmorenoc@ufl.edu
Twitter | LinkedIn

Savannah Morgan, Ph.D. Program
Advisors: Drs. Greg Kiker and Ray Huffaker
savannah.morgan@ufl.edu

Morgan Morrow, MS Program  
Agricultural Operations Management  
Advisor: Dr. Viviek Sharma  
morganmorrow@ufl.edu 

Edwin Mosimanyana, Ph.D. Program
Hydrologic Sciences
Advisors: Drs. Rafael Muñoz-Carpena and Greg Kiker
e.mosimanyana@ufl.edu

 


Shreeja Sreekumar Nair, MS Program 
Bio Based Products from Renewable Resources  
Advisor: Dr. Zhaohui Tong  
shreejasreekumar@ufl.edu

 


John Nemenyi
Modeling
Advisor: Dr. Greg Kiker
nemenyi93@ufl.edu


Israel Ojo
Nanotechnology and Precision Agriculture
Advisor: Dr. Yiannis Ampatzidis
israelojo@ufl.edu

Luc Olivier, Ph.D. Program
Crop Modeling
Advisor: Dr. Senthold Asseng
lolivier@ufl.edu

Nathan O'Neil, Ph.D. Program
Agricultural Controlled Environments
Advisors: Drs. Ana Martin-Ryals and Pratap Pullammanappallil
noneil@ufl.edu

Arianna Partow, Ph.D. Program
Biological Engineering
Advisor: Dr. Zhaohui Tong
ariannajpartow@ufl.edu

Marco Pazmino, Ph.D. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisor: Drs. Rafael Muñoz-Carpena and Rachata Muneepeerakul
mapazmi@ufl.edu

Wenbo Peng, Ph.D. Program
Biomaterials
Advisor: Dr. Zhaohui Tong
wenbopeng@ufl.edu

Lysbeth Perez, M.S. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisor: Dr. Eban Bean
l.perez@ufl.edu

Daniel Perondi, Ph.D. Program
Agrometeorology
Advisor: Dr. Clyde Fraisse
dperondi@ufl.edu

 

Jean Pompeo, M.S. Program
Advisors: Drs. Ying Zhang and Ziwen Yu
 Controlled Environments
jean.pompeo@ufl.edu

Hanyu Qian, Ph.D. Program
Biostatistics and Machine Learning
Advisors: Drs. Nikolay Bliznyuk and Eric McLamore
qianhanyu@ufl.edu

Brandon Quinn, Ph.D. Program
Natural Resources Conservation
Advisor: Dr. Sandra Guzmán
brandon.quinn@ufl.edu

Carola Sanchez, Ph.D. Program
Bioreactor Design
Advisor: Dr. Pratap Pullammanappallil
carolasanchez@ufl.edu

Bhagatveer Sangha, Ph.D. Program
Agribusiness and Farm Management
Advisor: Dr. J. Adam Watson
bssangha21@ufl.edu

Placeholder image

Pratiksha Pradeep Sharma 
Information Systems- Machine Learning 
Advisors: Dr. Nikolay Bliznyuk and Dr. Albert De Vries  
pratiksha.sharma@ufl.edu 

Sat-Byeol Shin, Ph.D. Program
Hydrology
Advisor: Dr. Young Gu Her
satbyeol.shin@ufl.edu

Hunter Smith, MSNT Program 
Remote Sensing   
Advisor: Dr. Aditya Singh  
huntersmith@ufl.edu 

 

Krista Stump, Ph.D. Program
Land and Water Resource Engineering
Advisor: Dr. Michael Dukes
stumpk@ufl.edu

 

Charles Swearingen
Advisor: Dr. Bruce Welt
cswearingen1@ufl.edu

 

Placeholder image

Bewuket Tefera, MS Program 
Advisor: Dr. Haimanote Bayabil  
bewukettefera@ufl.edu 

Fitsum Teshome, Ph.D. Program
Evapotranspiration modeling
Advisor: Dr. Haimanote Bayabil
fteshome@ufl.edu

Valerie Valerio, Ph.D. Program
Biological and Ecological Systems Modeling
Advisor: Dr. Greg Kiker
valerie.valerio@ufl.edu

 

Kathleen Vazquez, Ph.D. Program
Modeling Human-Natural Systems
Advisor: Dr. Rachata Muneepeerakul
kathleenmvazquez@ufl.edu

 

Taisha Venort, Ph.D. Program
Advisors: Dr. Cheryl Palm and Dr. Rafael Muñoz-Carpena
tvenort@ufl.edu

Vinay Vijayakumar, Ph.D. Program
Agricultural Robotics/Machinery
Advisor: Dr. Yiannis Ampatzidis
v66vijayakumar@ufl.edu

Kelsey Vought, Ph.D. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisors: Dr. Haimanote Bayabil
Co-advisor: Dr. Ana Martin-Ryals
kvought@ufl.edu

Fikadu Getachew Welidehanna, Ph.D. Program
Crop Modeling
Advisor: Dr. Haimanote Bayabil
fikadugetachew@ufl.edu

Placeholder image

Abigael Whalen, PhD Program  
Systems Optimization 
Advisor: Dr. Zhaohui Tong  
ab.gator11@ufl.edu 

Lory Willard, Ph.D. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisors: Drs. Rafael Muñoz-Carpena and Eric McLamore
lory.willard@ufl.edu

 

George Worrall, Ph.D. Program
Remote Sensing
Advisor: Dr. Jasmeet Judge
gworrall@ufl.edu

Placeholder image

Songzi Wu, PhD Program
Advisor: Dr. Ziwen Yu  
wusongzi@ufl.edu 

Yicheng Yang, Ph.D. Program
Nanotechnology
Advisor: Dr. Bin Gao
yicheng.yang@ufl.edu

 

Yue Zhang, Ph.D. Program
Environmental Engineering
Advisor: Dr. Bin Gao
zhangyue@ufl.edu

 

Chi Zhang, Ph.D. Program
Robotics
Advisor: Dr. Ziwen Yu
chi.zhang1@ufl.edu

Congmu Zhang, Ph.D. Program
Crop Modeling
Advisor: Dr. Gerrit Hoogenboom
congmuzh@ufl.edu

Xue Zhou, Ph.D. Program
Precision Agriculture
Advisors: Dr. Wonsuk “Daniel” Lee and Dr. Yiannis Ampatzidis
zhoux3@ufl.edu

Yulin "Patrick" Zheng, Ph.D. Program
Nanotechnology
Advisor: Dr. Bin Gao
yulinz2@ufl.edu

Congliang Zhou, Ph.D. Program
Advisor: Dr. Wonsuk “Daniel” Lee
co.zhou@ufl.edu