Skip to main content

Agricultural and Biological Engineering

Agricultural and Biological Engineering

The Agricultural and Biological Engineering department consists of faculty and staff dedicated to advancing and supporting the many industries we serve. To learn more about our faculty, staff, postdoctoral associates, and graduate students by exploring our directories.


People

$value){ if($key == "change-category") continue; if($value > $maxV){ $maxV = $value; $maxK = $key; } else if($value == $maxV){ $maxK .= ",".$key; } } $html=""; $url_gen = "http://blogs.ifas.ufl.edu/global";///global $url = $url_gen . "/category/" .$maxK . "/feed/feedname/"; if($maxK == "") $url = $url_gen . "/category/agriculture/feed/feedname/"; $xml = simplexml_load_file($url); $itemCount = $xml->channel->item->count(); $itemCount = 1;///show 1 post/// if($itemCount < 10){ $no=$itemCount; } else{ $no=10; } for($i = 0; $i < $no; $i++){ $title=$xml->channel->item[$i]->title; $description=$xml->channel->item[$i]->description; $image=$xml->channel->item[$i]->image; $link=$xml->channel->item[$i]->link; $category=$xml->channel->item[$i]->category; if($image == ""){ $image = "http://webdev.ifas.ufl.edu/YIQIGAO/20160915/images/placeholder.jpg"; } echo "

".$title."
". $description ."

"; } ?>

Yiannis Ampatzidis

Assistant Professor

Precision Agriculture/Automation
i.ampatzidis@ufl.edu
239-658-3451

Senthold Asseng

Professor

Climate Modeling
sasseng@ufl.edu
352-294-6726

Haimanote Bayabil

Assistant Professor

Water Resources
hbayabil@ufl.edu
786-217-9253

Eban Bean, P.E.

Assistant Professor

Urban Hydrology
ezbean@ufl.edu
325-294-2277

Nikolay Bliznyuk

Associate Professor

Associate Professor
nbliznyuk@ufl.edu
352-294-6734

Tom Burks, P.E.

Professor

Agricultural Robotics
tfburks@ufl.edu
352-294-6728

Melanie Correll

Associate Professor

Plant-Space Biology
correllm@ufl.edu
352-294-6722

Michael Dukes, P.E.

Professor

Irrigation/Water Conservation
mddukes@ufl.edu
352-294-6720

Clyde Fraisse

Professor

Agroclimatology
cfraisse@ufl.edu
352-294-6742

Bin Gao

Professor

Nanotechnology
bg55@ufl.edu
352-294-6746

Serap Gorucu

Assistant Professor

Agricultural Safety and Health
serapgorucu@ufl.edu

Wendy Graham

Swisher Eminent Scholar

Water Resources
wgraham@ufl.edu
352-294-7741

Sandra Guzmán

Assistant Professor

Hydrology/Irrigation
sandra.guzmangut@ufl.edu
772-577-7342

Young Gu Her

Assistant Professor

Hydrology and Water Quality
yher@ufl.edu
786-217-9288

Gerrit Hoogenboom

Professor and Preeminent Scholar

Crop Modeling
gerrit@ufl.edu
352-294-1036

Ray Huffaker

Professor

Bioeconomic Modeling and Law
rhuffaker@ufl.edu
352-294-6745

Pierce Jones

Professor

Director, Program for Resource Efficient Communities
piercejones@ufl.edu
352-392-8074

Jasmeet Judge

Professor

Microwave Remote Sensing
jasmeet@ufl.edu
352-294-6750

Gregory Kiker

Professor and Graduate Coordinator

Ecological Modeling
gkiker@ufl.edu
352-294-6749

Wonsuk "Daniel" Lee

Professor

Precision Agriculture
wslee@ufl.edu
352-294-6721

Dr. Ana Martin-Ryals

Ana Martin-Ryals

Assistant Professor

Biological Engineering Undergraduate Coordinator
admartin@ufl.edu
352-294-6708

Christopher Martinez

Associate Professor

Urban Water Resources
chrisjm@ufl.edu
352-294-6744

Eric McLamore

Associate Professor

Biosensors
emclamore@ufl.edu
352-294-6703

Kati Migliaccio, P.E.

Professor and Chair

Hydrology Monitoring and Modeling
klwhite@ufl.edu
352-294-6743

Saqib Mukhtar

Associate Dean for Extension, Agricultural, and Natural Resources Programs Leader

Animal Manure, Effluent Management
smukhtar@ufl.edu
352-392-1761

Rachata Muneepeerakul

Associate Professor

Dynamic Models, Stochastic Processes
rmuneepe@ufl.edu
352-294-6729

Rafael Muñoz-Carpena

Professor

Hydrology and Environmental Modeling
carpena@ufl.edu
352-294-6747

Cheryl Palm

Research Professor

Soil Biological and Ecological Processes
cpalm@ufl.edu
352-294-6727

William Pelletier

Senior Lecturer

Postharvest
wpelletier@ufl.edu
352-294-6701

Wendell Porter

Senior Lecturer

AOM Undergraduate Coordinator
waporter@ufl.edu
352-294-6706

Pratap Pullammanappallil

Associate Professor

Environmental Biotechnology
pcpratap@ufl.edu
352-294-6719

Richard Scholtz

Senior Lecturer

Sustainable Agriculture
rscholtz@ufl.edu
352-294-6704

Vivek Sharma

Assistant Professor

Precision Water Management
vsharma1@ufl.edu
352-294-6725

Vakhtang Shelia

Research Assistant Scientist

vakhtang.shelia@ufl.edu

Sanjay Shukla

Professor

Watershed Hydrology
sshukla@ufl.edu
239-658-3425

Aditya Singh

Assistant Professor

Remote Sensing and Spectroscopy
aditya01@ufl.edu
352-294-6739

Zhaohui Tong

Associate Professor

Biofuels and Bioproducts
ztong@ufl.edu
352-294-6702

J. Adam Watson

Assistant Professor

Agricultural Economics, Postharvest
jaw7385@ufl.edu
352-294-6740

Bruce Welt

Professor

Packaging
bwelt@ufl.edu
352-294-6730

Ziwen Yu

Assistant Professor

Big Data Analytics
ziwen.yu@ufl.edu
325-294-7761

Ying Zhang

Assistant Professor

Controlled Environments
yingzhang409@ufl.edu
325-294-6864

Research

Visit our Research Areas page to learn about our department's research expertise and the faculty that work within these areas.

Affiliate Faculty

Amor Menezes

Affiliate Assistant Professor

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

amormenezes@ufl.edu / 352-294-0470

Bio

Dr. Amor Menezes' research interests include dynamical systems theory and control, with applications to the fields of systems biology and synthetic biology.

John Schueller

Professor

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

schuejk@ufl.edu / 352-392-0822

Bio

Dr. John Schueller's research interests include manufacturing, controls, machine systems, and off-highway vehicles.

Emeritus Faculty

NameTitleEmailPhone
Direlle Baird Professor Emeritus direllebaird@yahoo.com  
Howard Beck Professor Emeritus hwb@ufl.edu 352-392-3797 
Brian J. Boman Professor Emeritus bjboman@ifas.ufl.edu 561-468-3922 
Ray Bucklin Professor Emeritus bucklin@ufl.edu  
Kenneth L. Campbell Professor Emeritus klc@ufl.edu  
Khe Van Chau Professor Emeritus kvchau@ufl.edu  
Richard P. Cromwell Associate Professor Emeritus rpcrom@ufl.edu  
Jonathan F. K. Earle  Associate Professor Emeritus  jearl@eng.ufl.edu  
Richard C. Fluck Professor Emeritus flandnc2@gmail.com  
Byron T. French Associate Professor Emeritus frenchbyronfaith@bellsouth.net  
Dorota Haman Professor Emeritus dhaman@ufl.edu  
Gerald W. Isaacs Professor Emeritus isaacs@ufl.edu  
James Jones Distinguished Professor Emeritus jimj@ufl.edu 352-294-6748
William M. Miller Professor Emeritus wmm@ifas.ufl.edu  
J. Wayne Mishoe Professor Emeritus wmishoe@jwm-engineering.com 352-372-2750
Donald R. Price Professor Emeritus drprice@ufl.edu  
Robert M. Peart Graduate Research Professor Emeritus peart_r@bellsouth.net  
Kathleen C. Ruppert Emeritus Extension Scientist kr@ufl.edu  
Masoud Salyani Professor Emeritus msi@ufl.edu  
Lawrance N. Shaw Professor Emeritus lshaw8715@aol.com  
Glen H. Smerage Associate Professor Emeritus ghsmerage@ifas.ufl.edu  
Arthur A. Teixeira Professor Emeritus atex@ufl.edu  
Jodie D. Whitney Professor Emeritus jdwhitney@ifas.ufl.edu  
Fedro Zazueta Professor Emeritus fsz@ufl.edu  

Retired Faculty

NameTitle
James D. Leary, Ph.D. Retired Senior Lecturer

Staff

Jessica Abbate

Admin Support Assistant I

352-294-6700
abbatej@ufl.edu
ROG 120

Juan Briceno

Engineer I

352-392-1864
jbriceno@ufl.edu

James Canter

Administrator/Programmer II

352-294-6716
jamescanter@ufl.edu
ROG 167

Billy Duckworth

Senior Engineering Technician III

352-294-6715
duck41@ufl.edu
ROG 165

Alvin Langford

Engineer

352-392-9771
alangfo@ufl.edu

Molly Lewis

End User Computing Specialist II

molly.lewis@ufl.edu

John Nemenyi

Water Resources Engineering Tech 1

352-294-6717
nemenyi93@ufl.edu
ROG 151

Shannon Noble

Education Coordinator

352-294-6711
shannon.noble@ufl.edu
ROG 120

Cheryl Porter

Coordinator
Computer Applications

352-294-6736
cporter@ufl.edu
ROG 243

Raychel Rabon

Marketing and Communications Specialist

352-294-0487
rdrabon@ufl.edu
ROG 120D

Jim Rummel

Senior Engineering Technician

352-392-7947
jrummel@ufl.edu

Pat Rush

Electrical Engineer

352-294-6723
prush@ufl.edu
ROG 216

Robin Snyder

Academic Advisor
Graduate and Undergraduate Programs

352-294-6709
rsnyder@ufl.edu
ROG 116

Jim Stainfield

Engineer III

352-294-6712
jstainfield@ufl.edu
ROG 148

Haley Tsai

Human Resources

haley.tsai@ufl.edu

Christopher Villalobos

Application Developer/Analyst III

352-294-6735
cvillalobos@ufl.edu
ROG 240

Ben Weeks

Engineer

benweeks@ufl.edu

Deana Williams

Senior Fiscal Assistant

352-294-6707
laschelle69@ufl.edu
ROG 114

Max Williams

Coordinator
Administrative Services III

352-294-6710
mandomax@ufl.edu
ROG 117

Michael Zingaro

Engineer

352-392-9771
zgator1@ufl.edu

Learn More About Our Department

Visit our About Us page to learn about the Agricultural and Biological Engineering department's mission, goals, and more.

Postdocs

Vijaya Joshi
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Principal Investigator (PI): Gerrit Hoogenboom
vjoshi@ufl.edu

Yujing Gao
Principal Investigator (PI): Gerrit Hoogenboom
ygao820@ufl.edu

Jose Guarin
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Principal Investigator (PI): Senthold Asseng
jguarin@ufl.edu

Thiago Borba Onofre
Principal Investigator (PI): Jasmeet Judge
tonofre@ufl.edu

Gonzalo Pablo Suarez
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Principal Investigator (PI): Rachata Muneepeerakul
suarezg@ufl.edu

 

Shunchang "Jack" Yang
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Principal Investigator (PI): Pratap Pullammanappallil
jack.shushu@ufl.edu

Chuang Zhao
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Principal Investigator (PI): Senthold Asseng
zhaochuang@ufl.edu

   

Graduate Students

Bibek Acharya, Ph.D. Program
Precision Water Management
Advisor: Dr. Vivek Sharma
bibekacharya@ufl.edu

Piyush Agade, Ph.D. Program
Advisor: Dr. Eban Bean
pagade@ufl.edu

Emmanuel Ajayi, Ph.D. Program
Agricultural Structures
Advisor: Drs. Ray Bucklin and Wendell Porter
eajayi@ufl.edu

Diego Alvarado, Ph.D. Program
Controlled Environments
Advisor: Dr. Ying Zhang
dalvaradopalma@ufl.edu

Waleed Bin Masoud, Ph.D. Program
Environmental Control
Advisor: Dr. Melanie Correll
almasoud@ufl.edu

Naqeeb Cahacci, Ph.D. Program
Remote Sensing
Advisors: Drs. Aditya Singh and Zhaohui Tong
ncahacci@ufl.edu

Alvaro Carmona Cabrero, Ph.D. Program
Modeling Natural-Human Systems
Advisor: Dr. Rafael Muñoz-Carpena
acarmonacabrero@ufl.edu

Joe Barrett Carter, Ph.D. Program
Advisors: Drs. Eban Bean and Aditya Singh
jbarrett.carter@ufl.edu

Oscar Castillo Romero, Ph.D. Program
Crop Modeling
Advisor: Dr. Gerrit Hoogenboom
ocastilloromero@ufl.edu

Jennifer Clark, Ph.D. Program
Agricultural Economics
Advisor: Dr. Wendell Porter
jlclark@ifas.ufl.edu

Allegra Cohen, Ph.D. Program
Food Security
Advisor: Dr. Jasmeet Judge
aa.cohen@ufl.edu

Jithran Ekanayake, Ph.D. Program
Bioengineering
Advisor: Dr. Amor Menezes
jithranekanayake@ufl.edu

Angelica Engel (Lomeu), Ph.D. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisor: Dr. Sanjay Shukla
amengel@ufl.edu

Ronald Fox, M.S. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisor: Dr. Eban Bean
ronald.fox@ufl.edu

Quentin Frederick, Ph.D. Program
Agricultural Automation Systems
Advisors: Drs. Tom Burks and Adam Watson
qfrederick@ufl.edu

Kyle Griffin, Ph.D. Program
Bioprocessing
Advisor: Dr. Pratap Pullammanappallil
kgriffin2494@ufl.edu

Kimberly Hafner, Ph.D. Program
Packaging
Advisor: Dr. Bruce Welt
hafnerk@ufl.edu

Yi Han, Ph.D. Program
Statistics
Advisor: Dr. Nikolay Bliznyuk
yhan2014@ufl.edu

Kira Hansen, Ph.D. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisor: Dr. Sanjay Shukla
khansen5@ufl.edu

Mehran Homayounfar, Ph.D. Program
Modeling Natural-Human Systems
Advisor: Drs. Rachata Muneepeerakul and Chris Martinez
homayounfar@ufl.edu

Alwin Hopf, Ph.D. Program
Biological Modeling
Advisor: Dr. Gerrit Hoogenboom
alwinhopf@ufl.edu

Jinsheng Huang
Waste Management
Advisor: Dr. Bin Gao
hjs92116@ufl.edu

Christopher Hwang, Ph.D. Program
Crop Modeling
Advisor: Dr. Melanie Correll
hwang138@ufl.edu

Lesly Jerome, M.S. Program
Sustainability
Advisor: Dr. Pierce Jones
kalel84@ufl.edu

Jerrett Kandzer, M.S. Program
Agricultural Economics
Advisor: Dr. J. Adam Watson
jkand14@ufl.edu

Raminder Kaur, Ph.D. Program
Agricultural Operations Management
Advisor: Dr. J. Adam Watson
rkaur1@ufl.edu

Stephen Lantin, Ph.D. Program
Advisors: Drs. Melanie Correll and Aditya Singh
slantin@ufl.edu

Emerick Larkin, Ph.D. Program
Sustainable Space Agriculture
Advisor: Dr. Melanie Correll
emerickl@ufl.edu
Twitter | LinkedIn | Blog

Dogil Lee, Ph.D. Program
Modeling and Agricultural Best Management Practices
Advisor: Dr. Wendy Graham
lee.d@ufl.edu

Yushi Li, M.S. Program
Advisor: Dr. Ana Martin-Ryals
liyushi@ufl.edu

Jai-Yi Ling, Ph.D. Program
Statistics and Hydrology
Advisors: Drs. Chris Martinez and Nikolay Bliznyuk
jiayiling@ufl.edu

Yikan Liu
Bioenergy
Advisor: Dr. Pratap Pullammanappallil
ykl1991.04.06@ufl.edu

Shanyu Meng, Ph.D. Program
Biobased Material
Advisor: Dr. Zhaohui Tong
shanyu@ufl.edu

R. Jason Merrick, Ph.D. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisors: Drs. Kati Migliaccio and Michael Dukes
rj.merrick@ufl.edu

Patricia Moreno Cadena, Ph.D. Program
Crop Modeling
Advisors: Drs. Senthold Asseng and Gerrit Hoogenboom
lpmorenoc@ufl.edu
Twitter | LinkedIn

Savannah Morgan, Ph.D. Program
Advisors: Drs. Greg Kiker and Ray Huffaker
savannah.morgan@ufl.edu

Karyn Moses, Ph.D. Program
Food Security
Advisor: Dr. Zhaohui Tong
kmoses985@ufl.edu

Edwin Mosimanyana, Ph.D. Program
Hydrologic Sciences
Advisors: Drs. Rafael Muñoz-Carpena and Greg Kiker
e.mosimanyana@ufl.edu

Mika Mzumara, M.S. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisor: Dr. Sandra Guzmán
mmzumara@ufl.edu

John Nemenyi
Modeling
Advisor: Dr. Greg Kiker
nemenyi93@ufl.edu

Woi Sok Oh
Land and Water Resources
Advisor: Dr. Rachata Muneepeerakul
w.oh@ufl.edu

Israel Ojo
Nanotechnology and Precision Agriculture
Advisor: Dr. Sanjay Shukla
israelojo@ufl.edu

Luc Olivier, Ph.D. Program
Crop Modeling
Advisor: Dr. Senthold Asseng
lolivier@ufl.edu

Nathan O'Neil, Ph.D. Program
Agricultural Controlled Environments
Advisor: Dr. Pratap Pullammanappallil
noneil@ufl.edu

Arianna Partow, Ph.D. Program
Biological Engineering
Advisor: Dr. Zhaohui Tong
ariannajpartow@ufl.edu

Marco Pazmino, Ph.D. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisor: Drs. Rafael Muñoz-Carpena and Rachata Muneepeerakul
mapazmi@ufl.edu

Wenbo Peng, Ph.D. Program
Biomaterials
Advisor: Dr. Zhaohui Tong
wenbopeng@ufl.edu

Lysbeth Perez, M.S. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisor: Dr. Eban Bean
l.perez@ufl.edu

Daniel Perondi, Ph.D. Program
Agrometeorology
Advisor: Dr. Clyde Fraisse
dperondi@ufl.edu
LinkedIn | Google Scholar | ResearchGate

 

Jean Pompeo, M.S. Program
Advisors: Drs. Ying Zhang and Ziwen Yu
 Controlled Environments
jean.pompeo@ufl.edu

 

Hanyu Qian, Ph.D. Program
Biostatistics and Machine Learning
Advisors: Drs. Nikolay Bliznyuk and Eric McLamore
qianhanyu@ufl.edu

Brandon Quinn, Ph.D. Program
Natural Resources Conservation
Advisor: Dr. Sandra Guzmán
brandon.quinn@ufl.edu

Sagarika Rath, Ph.D. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisor: Dr. Wendy Graham
sagarika1234@ufl.edu

Carola Sanchez, Ph.D. Program
Bioreactor Design
Advisor: Dr. Pratap Pullammanappallil
carolasanchez@ufl.edu

Bhagatveer Sangha, Ph.D. Program
Agribusiness and Farm Management
Advisor: Dr. J. Adam Watson
bssangha21@ufl.edu

Sat-Byeol Shin, Ph.D. Program
Hydrology
Advisor: Dr. Young Gu Her
satbyeol.shin@ufl.edu

Krista Stump, Ph.D. Program
Land and Water Resource Engineering
Advisor: Dr. Michael Dukes
stumpk@ufl.edu

Ratna Suthar, Ph.D. Program
Postharvest
Advisor: Dr. Jasmeet Judge
rsuthar@ufl.edu

Yifan Tang, M.S. Program
Biological Engineering
Advisor: Dr. Eric McLamore
tang.yifan@ufl.edu

Valerie Valerio, Ph.D. Program
Biological and Ecological Systems Modeling
Advisor: Dr. Greg Kiker
valerie.valerio@ufl.edu

Kathleen Vazquez, Ph.D. Program
Modeling Human-Natural Systems
Advisor: Dr. Rachata Muneepeerakul
kathleenmvazquez@ufl.edu

Taisha Venort, Ph.D. Program
Advisors: Dr. Cheryl Palm and Dr. Rafael Muñoz-Carpena
tvenort@ufl.edu

Vinay Vijayakumar, Ph.D. Program
Agricultural Robotics/Machinery
Advisor: Dr. Yiannis Ampatzidis
v66vijayakumar@ufl.edu

Kelsey Vought, Ph.D. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisors: Dr. Haimanote Bayabil
Co-advisor: Dr. Ana Martin-Ryals
kvought@ufl.edu

Fikadu Getachew Welidehanna, Ph.D. Program
Crop Modeling
Advisor: Dr. Haimanote Bayabil
fikadugetachew@ufl.edu

Lory Willard, Ph.D. Program
Land and Water Resources Engineering
Advisors: Drs. Rafael Muñoz-Carpena and Eric McLamore
lory.willard@ufl.edu

George Worrall, Ph.D. Program
Remote Sensing
Advisor: Dr. Jasmeet Judge
gworrall@ufl.edu

Yicheng Yang, Ph.D. Program
Nanotechnology
Advisor: Dr. Bin Gao
yicheng.yang@ufl.edu

Yue Zhang, Ph.D. Program
Environmental Engineering
Advisor: Dr. Bin Gao
zhangyue@ufl.edu

Chi Zhang, Ph.D. Program
Robotics
Advisor: Dr. Ziwen Yu
chi.zhang1@ufl.edu

Congmu Zhang, Ph.D. Program
Crop Modeling
Advisor: Dr. Gerrit Hoogenboom
congmuzh@ufl.edu

Xue Zhou, Ph.D. Program
Precision Agriculture
Advisors: Dr. Wonsuk “Daniel” Lee and Dr. Yiannis Ampatzidis
zhoux3@ufl.edu

Yulin "Patrick" Zheng, Ph.D. Program
Nanotechnology
Advisor: Dr. Bin Gao
yulinz2@ufl.edu

Congliang Zhou, Ph.D. Program
Advisor: Dr. Wonsuk “Daniel” Lee
co.zhou@ufl.edu