University of Florida

Excess Hours Surcharge

This is to notify you that Florida State Bill 2150 states that students may be subject to an excess hour fee.

It is very important you monitor your progress toward your degree, and you do not take extra classes which are not required. You should monitor your status related to this regulation on One.UF=> Degree Audit=> Excess Hours Surcharge throughout your academic career. Please note the courses for your excess hours assessment for the current term will be added after final grades are posted at the end of the semester.

Taking excess hours may result in your being charged excess hour fees which are up to 100% of the undergraduate tuition rate for the course. Differing regulations exist for the amount of charges depending on the date you entered a postsecondary undergraduate program at any Florida public institution of higher education. To determine which excess hour fee you may be assessed please see below:

  • All state university undergraduate students who entered a postsecondary undergraduate program at any Florida public institution of higher education for the first time in fall 2009 or thereafter and prior to fall 2011 shall pay an excess hour fee equal to 50 percent of the undergraduate tuition identified in Regulation 7.001(3) for each credit hour in excess of 120 percent of the number of credit hours required to complete the baccalaureate degree program in which the student is enrolled.
  • All state university undergraduate students who entered a postsecondary undergraduate program at any Florida public institution of higher education for the first time in fall 2011 or thereafter and prior to fall 2012 shall pay an excess hour fee equal to 100 percent of the undergraduate tuition identified in Regulation 7.001(3) for each credit hour in excess of 115 percent of the number of credit hours required to complete the baccalaureate degree program in which the student is enrolled.
  • All state university undergraduate students who entered a postsecondary undergraduate program at any Florida public institution of higher education for the first time in fall 2012 or thereafter shall pay an excess hour fee equal to 100 percent of the undergraduate tuition identified in Regulation 7.001(3) for each credit hour in excess of 110 percent of the number of credit hours required to complete the baccalaureate degree program in which the student is enrolled. This surcharge will continue to apply to you throughout your baccalaureate degree program as long as you maintain continuous enrollment. In the event you fail to maintain continuous enrollment and the law is amended again to increase the surcharge, you will be subject to the new surcharge. Here is a link to a summary of the fee regulations.

The Excess Hour Fee regulation is located at item 21: http://www.flbog.edu/documents_regulations/regulations/7_003FeesfinespenaltiesregulationFINAL6_21_12.pdf.

Some courses such as AP, IB, Dual Enrollment, are not included in Excess Hour Calculations. For a complete list of the exceptions refer to the list found at the summary of regulations above. If hours are included which you believe should be exempted based on review of the regulation above, you may submit a letter of petition. Include the specific course(s), the reason you feel they should be exempted from inclusion and any appropriate documentation. Your letter should be submitted to the Office of the University Registrar, 222 Criser Hall, PO Box 114000, Gainesville, FL, 32611-4000 or faxed to (352)846-1126 immediately. You will be notified again if you should reach or exceed the number of credit hours for your degree program. The university encourages you to work closely with your academic advisor to ensure you meet your degree requirements in an efficient manner to avoid the substantially increased tuition mandated by this legislation.