University of Florida

2008 ABE Awards and Recognitions

Ray BucklinRay Bucklin, Professor and Grad Coord.

Ray Bucklin was elected to the 2008 Rural Builder Hall of Fame, an annual award sponsored by Rural Builder magazine. He was selected for his contributions to the rural building industry.

Gregory KikerGreg Kiker, Assistant Professor

Greg Kiker's paper entitled Integrating Comparative Risk Assessment with Multi-Criteria Decision Analysis to Manage Contaminated Sediments: An Example for the New York/New Jersey Harbor, with co-authors from the US Army Corps, was selected as HERA's Integrated Human and Ecological Risk Assessment Paper of Year 2008.

Rafael Munoz-CarpenaRafael Muñoz-Carpena, Associate Professor

Rafael Muñoz-Carpena was selected as the 2008 designee for the IFAS/International Achievement Award. He was selected by the Awards Committee appointed by the International Programs Advisory Team (IPAT) based on his impressively documented record of international commitment.


Fedro ZazuetaFedro Zazueta, Director and Professor

Fedro Zazueta was named a co-winner of the 2008 Kishida International Award by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. He shares the honor with K.C. Ting from the University of Illinois. The award honors outstanding contributions toward food and fiber production, improved living, and education outside the United States. Zazueta, an ASABE Fellow, is being recognized for his outstanding worldwide accomplishments in information technology in agriculture and natural resources through research, teaching, extension programs, and technology transfer.

Ray BucklinRay Bucklin, Professor

Dr. Ray Bucklin was named a Fellow by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Dr. Bucklin is recognized worldwide for his research and extension programs, which have resulted in significant improvements to dairy housing and milk production. His current research includes working with NASA personnel to develop methods for growing plants on lengthy space missions. Members selected as Fellows demonstrate unusual professional distinction, with outstanding qualifications and experience in the field of agricultural engineering. Twenty years' membership in ASABE is also required. Only about two percent of the active members of ASABE have achieved the grade of Fellow.

Fountain Wars 2008Fountain Wars Team, 2008

The UF ASABE Student Club received an award for the Most Attractive Fountain at the annual ASABE meeting in Providence, Rhode Island.

Zuzanna ZajacZuzanna Zajac, ABE Graduate Student

Zuzanna Zajac was awarded a James Davidson Graduate Travel Scholarship by the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences. The purpose of the scholarship is to provide funding to help defray travel expenses for graduate students presenting a paper at a national or international professional meeting or conference.

William MillerWilliam Miller, Professor Emeritus

Bill Miller received the 2008 Citrus Engineering Award. The award is sponsored by Progress Energy and was presented at the American Society of Mechanical Engineers 54th Florida Section Citrus Engineering Conference. Dr. Miller was also named a 2008 ASABE Fellow at the national meeting of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.

Dr. Sanjay ShuklaDr. Sanjay Shukla, Associate Professor - SWFREC

Water resources scientist Dr. Sanjay Shukla was awarded the 2008 Best Technical Publication Award by the Watershed Council of the Environmental and Water Resources Institute of the American Society of Civil Engineers at the World Environmental and Water Resources Congress in Honolulu, Hawaii, in May.

Viki KeenerViki Keener, ABE Graduate Student

Vicki Keener's entry titled, “Categorical ENSO effects on simulated phosphorus loading in South Florida” received a 1st place award in the student poster competition at the Climate Information for Managing Risks (CIMR) Symposium. Viki is a Ph.D. student specializing in climate and hydrological modeling.

Nathan WangusiNathan Wangusi, ABE Graduate Student

Nathan Wangusi has been awarded a one-year Rotary Foundation Scholarship which will supplement his doctoral research project  titled “ Integrated Watershed and River Modeling for Adaptive Learning and Management in the Crocodile River Basin, South Africa”. The research revolves around trying to find solutions for water and land resource conflicts between indigenous Southern Africans, wildlife within the Kruger National Park, commercial and rural farmers and industry owners amongst other stake holders within the Crocodile River Basin using adaptive management and computer modeling technologies. Nathan will begin his work in South Africa in 2009.

Jasmeet JudgeJasmeet Judge, Associate Professor

Jasmeet Judge was named the ASABE Florida Section Young Researcher. The award honors dedicated use of scientific methodology to seek out facts or principles significant to agricultural engineering. Dr. Judge specializes in Remote Sensing.

Michael DukesMichael Dukes, Associate Professor

Mike Dukes was named the ASABE Florida Section Young Extension Worker. This award honors outstanding success in motivating people to acquire knowledge, skills and understanding to improve agricultural operations. Dr. Dukes specializes in irrigation.

Jose Reyes-De-CorcueraJose Reyes-De-Corcuera

Jose Reyes was selected as the ASABE Florida Section Young Engineer. It is presented to an engineer, 40 or younger, in the field of Ag Engineering and is a leader who represents the profession thru his or her work.

Jim LearyJames Leary, Senior Lecturer

Dr. Jim Leary was presented with a Distinguished Achievement Award by the ASABE Florida Section. It is awarded to an individual who is active in the state section and in the profession of Agricultural Engineering. Recipient has typically served as active member of the Executive Committee.

Lauren HunterLauren Hunter, ABE Student

Lauren Hunter was presented with the Outstanding Student Award by the ASABE Florida Section. Lauren recently graduated with an ABE degree, specializing in Land and Water Resources Engineering.

Zuzanna Zajac and Eban BeanZuzanna Zajac and Eban Bean, Graduate Students

Zuzanna and Eban were awarded first and second place, respectively, in the student paper competition at the Florida Section ASABE conference.

Stacia DavisStacia Davis, ABE Graduate Student

Stacia Davis won 3rd place in the Florida State Horticultural Society (FSHS) Student Paper competition.The title of her paper was “Irrigation Application Using Evapotranspiration-Based Irrigation Controllers.”

Fernando VargasFernando Luis Vargas, PKG Graduate Student

Fernando Vargas' poster titled, "Degradation of Polylactic Acid (PLA) Exposed to Steam" was selected as the winner of the student poster competition at the Society of Plastics Engineers GPEC 2008 Conference. Fernando is a doctoral student specializing in Packaging Science.

Fernando VargasMaggie Lanigan, ABE Student

Maggie Lanigan was awarded the Gamma Sigma Delta Undergraduate Scholarship (presented by Dr. Elaine Turner) at the GSD Initiation and Awards Reception. The scholarship is awarded to an outstanding student in the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences.

Jonathan EarleJonathan Earle, Associate Dean for Student Affairs

Dr. Jonathan Earle is the first UF faculty member to receive the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring. He was honored as one of only 10 recipients nationwide in a ceremony at the White House. Dr. Earle was recognized for his work to create several mentoring and outreach programs including the STEPUP program which has had a huge impact on the success of underrepresented minority students in earning engineering degrees.